Senator Introduces Lobby Ban Bill for Former Lawmakers

Senator Jim Runestad (R-15) introduced Senate Bill 57, which bars former members of the Legislature from registering as lobbyists for two years after leaving office and, for former committee chairs, the cooling-off period would be three years. Violation of the proposed ban would be a misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.

Senator Runstead was joined by Senators Michael MacDonald (R-10), Kevin Daley (R-31) and Rosemary Bayer (D-12) in cosponsoring the legislation. The bill was referred to the Senate Government Operations Committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *